We are delighted to introduce you to our awarding and shortlisting panels.

Awarding Panel

Mr Michael Russell MSP

Cabinet Secretary for Education & Lifelong Learning

Michael Russell has been Cabinet Secretary for Education and Lifelong Learning within the Scottish Government since 2009 and has both colleges and higher education institutions within his portfolio. He was elected to the Scottish Parliament in 1999 as a Regional Member for the South of Scotland.

Dr Bridget McConnell

Chief Executive, Culture & Sport Glasgow

As Chief Executive of Culture & Sport Glasgow Dr Bridget McConnell leads the delivery of cultural and sports activities on behalf of the city. Bridget represents Glasgow City Council on the Glasgow 2014 Board and was an integral part of the Bid team which won the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games. Bridget is now focused on delivering a substantive legacy for the Games.

Aileen McGlynn OBE

Aileen McGlynn is a triple paralympic gold medalist in track cycling. Most recently she won a silver medal in the kilo and bronze medal in the pursuit cycling events in the 2012 London Olympics.

Born in Paisley, Aileen grew up in Glasgow and has a degree in mathematics, statistics and management science from a Scottish university.

Susan Egelstaff

Retired badminton champion Susan Egelstaff first represented Scotland in 2000, and went on to become the highest ranked female badminton athlete in the UK. She won Team Bronze at the Manchester 2002 Commonwealth Games, took Women’s Singles Bronze four years later in Melbourne and represented Team GB at the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.